OPEN MON-SAT 9AM-6PM | SUN 10AM-5:30PM

Warwick's wins PW Bookstore of the Year 2024

 (858) 454-0347

The Treeline (Kobo eBook)

The Treeline By Ben Rawlence Cover Image
$12.99
Available Now

Description


Winner of the 2023 Helen Bernstein Book Award for Excellence in Journalism

**"Original and readable." ―Financial Times' Best Environmental Books of 2022

"Superb, inspiring." ―Winner, National Academies of Science Schmidt Awards for Excellence in Science Communications**

“Illuminating.” —Silver Medalist, National Outdoor Book Awards

Longlisted for the American Library Association's 2023 Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction

Finalist, 2023 Banff Mountain Book Competition

Finalist, 2023 Dayton Literary Peace Prize

In the tradition of Elizabeth Kolbert and Barry Lopez, a powerful, poetic and deeply absorbing account of the “lung” at the top of the world.

For the last fifty years, the trees of the boreal forest have been moving north. Ben Rawlence's The Treeline takes us along this critical frontier of our warming planet from Norway to Siberia, Alaska to Greenland, Canada to Sweden to meet the scientists, residents and trees confronting huge geological changes. Only the hardest species survive at these latitudes including the ice-loving Dahurian larch of Siberia, the antiseptic Spruce that purifies our atmosphere, the Downy birch conquering Scandinavia, the healing Balsam poplar that Native Americans use as a cure-all and the noble Scots Pine that lives longer when surrounded by its family.

It is a journey of wonder and awe at the incredible creativity and resilience of these species and the mysterious workings of the forest upon which we rely for the air we breathe. Blending reportage with the latest science, The Treeline is a story of what might soon be the last forest left and what that means for the future of all life on earth.

Product Details
ISBN-13: 9781250270245
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: February 14th, 2022
Language: